Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Drought Disaster Declared for 28 Additional Texas Counties

Posted by feww on May 17, 2013

40% of all U.S. counties and county-equivalents currently designated as drought disaster areas*

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 28 additional counties in Texas as agricultural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought.

  • The Primary Disaster Areas are Ector, Leon, Madison, Houston, Liberty and San Jacinto counties.
  • The Contiguous Disaster Areas are Anderson, Andrews, Angelina, Brazos, Chambers, Cherokee, Crane, Freestone, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jefferson, Limestone, Midland, Montgomery, Polk, Robertson, Trinity, Upton, Walker, Ward and Winkler counties.

[*  The designations include both Primary and contiguous disaster areas.  U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents]

US Drought Map

drought map for contiguous US 05142013
Drought Map for the Contiguous US.  Drought Conditions as of May 14, 2013, released by US Drought Monitor on May 16, 2013. Map shows fractional changes in the  drought conditions since last week.

Related Links


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.