Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Multiple Crop Disasters Declared for 4 States

Posted by feww on December 20, 2013


52 Counties in Four States Struck by Multiple Crop Disasters

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 52 counties in four states as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by multiple disasters.

The disasters include

  • Spring snowstorms
  • Significant rainfall
  • Unseasonably cool spring
  • Frosts and freeze damage
  • Flooding
  • Ground saturation
  • Severe thunderstorms
  • Hail damage
  • High winds
  • Weather-related insects and diseases
  • Mid-summer drought conditions that began January 1, 2013, and continues.

The disaster areas spread across the Dakotas, Minnesota and Montana.

North Dakotan disaster areas are Benson, Grand Forks, McLean, Pembina, Bottineau, Grant, Mercer, Pierce, Burke, Kidder, Morton, Ramsey, Burleigh, Logan, Mountrail, Renville, Cavalier, McHenry, Nelson, Rolette, Divide, McIntosh, Oliver, Sioux, Emmons, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells, Adams, Dunn, Hettinger, Stark, Barnes, Eddy, LaMoure, Steele, Cass, Foster, McKenzie, Williams, Dickey, Griggs and Sheridan counties.

  • Minnesota: Kittson, Marshall, Norman and Polk counties.
  • Montana: Sheridan County.
  • South Dakota: Campbell County.

Crop Disaster 2013

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 4,401 county-level agricultural disaster areas across 45 states, so far this year.

State and County level records of calendar year 2013 disaster designations made by the USDA include losses and damages caused by one or more of the following

  • Flash flooding
  • Excessive rain, moisture, humidity
  • Severe Storms, thunderstorms
  • Ground Saturation
  • Standing Water
  • Hail
  • Wind, High Winds
  • Fire, Wildfire
  • Heat, Excessive heat
  • High Temp. (incl. low humidity)
  • Winter Storms, Ice Storms, Snow, Blizzard
  • Frost, FREEZE
  • Hurricanes, Typhoons, Tropical Storms
  • Tornadoes
  • Volcano
  • Mudslides, Debris Flows, Landslides
  • Heavy Surf
  • Ice Jams
  • Insects
  • Tidal Surges
  • Cold, wet weather
  • Cool/Cold, Below-normal Temperatures
  • Lightning
  • Disease

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA between January 9 and December 18, 2013.

Recent Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.