Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in 6 States

Posted by feww on January 10, 2014

46 Counties across six states designated as crop disaster areas by USDA

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 46 counties in six states—Minnesota, Wisconsin, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia—as crop disaster areas in two separate declarations.

Drought conditions and lack of moisture

USDA has declared the following counties in Minnesota and Wisconsin as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by drought conditions and lack of moisture that occurred September 1 – November 15, 2013.

  • Minnesota:  Kanabec, Morrison, Pine, Aitkin, Carlton, Chisago, Isanti, Benton, Cass, Crow Wing, Mille Lacs, Stearns and Todd counties.
  • Wisconsin: Douglas and  Burnett counties.

Excessive rain and flooding

USDA has also designated the following counties in The Carolinas, Tennessee and Virginia  as crop disaster areas due to excessive rain and flooding that began January 1, 2013, and continues.

  • North Carolina: Alleghany,  Granville, Polk, Ashe, Harnett, Wilkes, Alexander, Franklin, Moore, Vance, Caldwell, Henderson, Person, Wake, Chatham, Iredell, Rutherford, Watauga, Cumberland, Johnston, Sampson, Yadkin, Durham, Lee and Surry counties.
  • South Carolina:  Greenville and Spartanburg
  • Tennessee: Johnson County.
  • Virginia:  Grayson, Halifax and Mecklenburg counties.

Crop Disasters 2013

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 4,447 county-level agricultural disaster areas across 46 states in 2013.

State and County level records of calendar year 2013 disaster designations made by the USDA include losses and damages caused by one or more of the following

  • Flash flooding
  • Excessive rain, moisture, humidity
  • Severe Storms, thunderstorms
  • Ground Saturation
  • Standing Water
  • Hail
  • Wind, High Winds
  • Fire, Wildfire
  • Heat, Excessive heat
  • High Temp. (incl. low humidity)
  • Winter Storms, Ice Storms, Snow, Blizzard
  • Frost, FREEZE
  • Hurricanes, Typhoons, Tropical Storms
  • Tornadoes
  • Volcano
  • Mudslides, Debris Flows, Landslides
  • Heavy Surf
  • Ice Jams
  • Insects
  • Tidal Surges
  • Cold, wet weather
  • Cool/Cold, Below-normal Temperatures
  • Lightning
  • Disease

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA between January 9 and December 18, 2013.

Recent Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.