Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disaster Declared in 40 Counties due to Drought

Posted by feww on January 16, 2014

40 Counties in Five states Declared Agricultural Disaster Areas

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 40 counties in five states as crop disaster areas due to drought.

The Disaster Areas are:

  • Colorado: Baca, Crowley, Kit Carson, Otero, Pueblo, Bent, El Paso, Las Animas, Phillips, Sedgwick, Cheyenne, Kiowa, Lincoln, Prowers, Yuma, Arapahoe, Custer, Elbert, Huerfano, Teller, Costilla, Douglas, Fremont, Logan, and Washington counties.
  • Kansas: Cheyenne,  Hamilton, Sherman, Wallace, Greeley, Morton, Stanton counties.
  • Nebraska: Chase, Deuel, Perkins, Cheyenne and  Dundy counties.
  • New Mexico:  Colfax and Union counties.
  • Oklahoma: Cimarron County.

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA between January 9 and December 18, 2013.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.