Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Multiple Crop Disasters Declared for Michigan

Posted by feww on January 25, 2014


Crop Disasters Hit 89 Counties Across Three States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 86 counties in Michigan, two counties in Wisconsin and one in Ohio as agricultural disaster areas in three different designations due to multiple disasters.

Designation #1

USDA has designated 56 counties in Michigan as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain with cooler than normal temperatures that began April 1, 2013, and continues.

Alcona, Chippewa, Gratiot, Mackinac, Arenac, Clare, Houghton, Midland, Baraga, Crawford, Huron, Monroe, Bay, Emmet, Iosco, Muskegon, Charlevoix, Gladwin, Luce, Newaygo, Cheboygan, Gogebic, Ogemaw, Ontonagon, Oscoda, Presque Isle, Roscommon, Alger, Isabella, Marquette, Oceana, Alpena, Kalkaska, Mason, Osceola, Antrim, Kent, Mecosta, Otsego, Clinton, Keweenaw, Missaukee, Ottawa, Ionia, Lake, Montcalm, Saginaw, Iron, Lenawee, Montmorency, Sanilac, Schoolcraft, Shiawassee, Tuscola, Washtenaw and  Wayne counties.

The designation includes also the following areas in neighboring states:

  • Ohio: Lucas County.
  • Wisconsin: Iron and Vilas counties.

Designation #2

USDA has also designated 5 counties in Michigan as crop disaster areas  due to damages and losses caused by drought with cooler than normal temperatures that occurred August 1 – September 28, 2013.

The disaster areas are:

Grand Traverse, Leelanau, Manistee, Wexford and Benzie counties.

Designation #3

USDA has further designated 25 counties in Michigan as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by the combined effects of excessive rain that occurred April 1 – July 29, 2013, and returning October 15, 2013, and continuing. The designation also includes drought that occurred July 30 – October 15, 2013, and cooler than normal temperatures which spanned the entire disaster period. The counties are:

Alpena, Grand Traverse, Mecosta, Montmorency, Antrim, Kalkaska, Missaukee, Osceola, Otsego, Wexford, Alcona, Cheboygan, Isabella, Manistee, Benzie, Clare, Lake, Montcalm, Charlevoix, Crawford, Leelanau, Newaygo, Oscoda, Presque Isle and Roscommon.

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. Total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on January 22 and released on January 24, 2013.

2014 Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.