Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disaster Declared for 20 Counties in Two States

Posted by feww on February 6, 2014


Drought Causes Crop Disaster in 20 Counties across Two States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 20 counties in two states as crop disaster areas due to the recent drought.

The disaster designations are for the states of New Mexico and Colorado.

  • The drought disaster areas in New Mexico are the counties of DeBaca, Harding, Rio Arriba, Taos, Chaves, Los Alamos, Roosevelt, San Miguel, Colfax, Mora, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Guadalupe, Quay, San Juan, Union and  Lincoln.
  • The disaster areas in Colorado are the counties of Archuleta, Conejos and Costilla.

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on February 5, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.