Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disaster Declared For 8 States Due to Extreme Weather

Posted by feww on February 7, 2014


Crop disasters declared in 43 counties due to drought, flash flooding, flooding, excessive heat, excessive rain, lightning, high wind…

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated ten counties in two states—Maine and New Hampshire—as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by flash flooding, flooding, excessive heat, excessive rain, lightning and high wind that occurred April 1 – October 31, 2013.
Those counties are

  • Maine: Androscoggin, Oxford, Sagadahoc, Cumberland, Franklin, Kennebec, Lincoln and York counties.
  • New Hampshire: Carroll and Coos counties.

Excessive Moisture and Heat

USDA has designated a total of eight counties in Massachusetts and Connecticut as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by excessive moisture and heat that occurred during the 2013 crop year.

Those counties are

  • Massachusetts: Hampden, Hampshire, Berkshire, Franklin and Worcester counties.
  • Connecticut: Hartford, Litchfield and Tolland counties.

Crop Disaster Declared for 25 Counties in Four States due to Drought

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 25 counties in four states as crop disaster areas due to the recent drought. The disaster designations are for the states of California, Oregon, New Mexico and Colorado.

  • The disaster designation areas in California are Del Norte, Humboldt and Siskiyou counties.
  • Oregon: Curry and Josephine counties.
  • New Mexico:  DeBaca, Harding, Rio Arriba, Taos, Chaves, Los Alamos, Roosevelt, San Miguel, Colfax, Mora, Sandoval, Santa Fe, Guadalupe, Quay, San Juan, Union and  Lincoln counties.
  • Colorado: Archuleta, Conejos and Costilla counties.

1. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

2. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

3. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

4. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

5. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on February 5, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.