Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

States of Emergency Declared for NY & CT

Posted by feww on February 14, 2014


Major Storm Continues to Pound U.S. Northeast

States of emergency have now been declared for 12 states in the south, southeast and northeast since the weekend, as a deadly storm continues to track up U.S. Northeast.

New York: Gov. Cuomo declared a state of emergency Thursday, his  fifth so far this year, as the deadly snowstorm impacted much of New York and the East Coast.

Cuomo’s  declaration is for Clinton, Essex, Franklin and St. Lawrence counties and covers the mid-to-lower Hudson Valley, New York City and Long Island, as well as the North Country, central New York and the Capital Region.

“The roads are dangerous,” declared Cuomo!

Connecticut: Gov. Malloy declared a State of Emergency in Vermont as the storm dumped up to 12 inches of snow on parts of the states, straining Vermont’s reserves of road salt.

Additional snow was forecast to fall early morning Friday, keeping schools closed.

120 Million of People Affected

The massive storm system has affected an estimated 120 millions people in 22 states from Texas to Maine, leaving at least 14 people dead and many injured, as of posting.

Winter Storm Warnings, Watches and Advisories were in effect from Georgia to Maine, Tuesday through Friday. Forecasters have warned the powerful system could dump up to 18 inches (46 cm) of snow over the Atlantic Coast through Saturday.

Latest Weather Forecast by NWS

Winter Storm Moving through the Northeast

The same storm that brought heavy snow and significant ice accumulations to the Southeast and Mid-Atlantic has moved up the East Coast, bringing significant winter weather to the Northeast. Heavy snow and gusty winds are expected in parts of the Appalachians and New England into Friday. Conditions will begin to improve as the storm pulls away into the Canadian Maritimes by Friday afternoon.

us weather hazards map 14feb14U.S. Weather Hazards Map (Hazmap)  for Thursday, February 14, 2014. Issued at 3:32UTC. Source: NWS. UPDATE

States of Emergency Declared for 12  States

Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, Maryland, New Jersey, Tennessee, New York and Connecticut have now declared States of Emergency due to the massive storm.

“This is not the storm we had two weeks ago, where we were playing in the snow and building snowmen. This is an ice storm,” said Gov Haley, as she declared a State of Emergency for South Carolina.

Flight Cancellations and Delays

More than 12,000 flights into, within, or from the United States have been canceled and thousands more delayed Tuesday through early Friday. The trend is expected to continue through weekend.

Federal Emergency Disaster Declared for the State of Georgia

The White House has declared a federal emergency in the State of Georgia resulting from a severe winter storm beginning on February 10, 2014, and continuing.

The emergency disaster declaration will provide federal disaster relief to “lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe” in the counties of Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Cobb, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Douglas, Elbert, Fannin, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Gordon, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Haralson, Hart, Jackson, Lincoln, Lumpkin, Madison, Murray, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Pickens, Polk, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Union, Walker, Walton, White, Whitfield, and Wilkes.

White House Issues Federal Emergency Disaster Declaration for South Carolina

The White House has declared a  Federal Emergency Disaster in the State of South Carolina resulting from a severe ice and snowstorm beginning on February 10, 2014, and continuing.

Energy Emergency

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) extended on Wednesday the regional States of Emergency Declarations, Waivers, Exemptions & Permits for transporting propane throughout the United States.

A total of at least 36 states and District of Columbia are currently impacted by shortages of propane and other heating fuels.

States covered by the emergency declarations include:

  • Western Service Center: North Dakota and South Dakota
  • Southern Service Center: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina and Tennessee
  • Eastern Service Center: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia
  • Midwestern Service Center: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Ohio and Wisconsin

Colorado Gov Issued Emergency Declaration to Authorize Temporary Exception to Hours of Service Regulations for CMVs Used for Propane Transport on February 7, 2014.

Texas Gov Renews Proclamation Declaring Liquefied Petroleum Gas Emergency [Feb. 4, 2014.]

Connecticut Provides Emergency Exemption from Hours of Service of Drivers [Feb. 11, 2014.]

S. Carolina Gov Issues Emergency Declaration for Severe Winter Weather Impact [Feb. 11, 2014.]

S. Carolina Gov Issues Executive Order to Waive Truck Restrictions  [Feb. 11, 2014.]

N.  Carolina Governor Temporarily Suspends Motor Vehicle Regulations … [Feb. 11, 2014.]

Related Links

Energy Emergency Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.