Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in 12 States

Posted by feww on March 7, 2014


83 Counties in 12 States Declared Crop Disaster areas due to Drought and Deluge

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 83 counties in 12 states as crop disaster areas, in seven separate designations, due to the drought, and deluge.

The disaster designations are for the states of Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Minnesota, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Texas, Utah and Wisconsin.

1. Texas Drought Disaster Designations. USDA has designated six counties in Texas as drought disaster areas due to the worsening drought.

Those counties are Victoria, Calhoun, Goliad, Lavaca, DeWitt, Jackson and Refugio.

2. Arizona Drought Disaster Designations. USDA has designated 24 counties in Arizona and 5 bordering states as crop disaster areas due to the worsening drought.

  • Arizona: Apache, Greenlee, Navajo, Coconino, Mohave, Yavapai, Cochise, Graham, Maricopa, Gila, and La Paz counties.
  • California: San Bernardino County.
  • Colorado: Montezuma County.
  • Nevada: Clark and Lincoln counties.
  • New Mexico: Catron, Grant, McKinley, Cibola, Hidalgo and San Juan counties.
  • Utah: Kane, San Juan and Washington counties.

3. Idaho Drought Disaster Designations encompassing Nevada and Oregon

  • Idaho: Owyhee, Ada, Canyon, Elmore and Twin Falls counties.
  • Nevada: Elko and Humboldt counties.
  • Oregon: Malheur County.

4. New Mexico Drought Disaster Designations encompassing Arizona, Colorado, Utah

  • New Mexico:  Bernalillo, Cibola, Hidalgo, Sandoval, Catron, Grant, McKinley, San Juan, Valencia and Socorro, Lincoln, Luna, Santa Fe, Torrance, Los Alamos, Rio Arriba and Sierra counties.
  • Arizona: Apache, Cochise and Greenlee counties.
  • Colorado: Archuleta, La Plata and Montezuma counties.
  • Utah: San Juan County

5. Nevada Drought Disaster Designations encompassing California

  • Nevada: Esmeralda, Mineral and Nye counties.
  • California: Inyo and Mono counties.

6. Wisconsin Drought Disaster Designations encompassing Minnesota

USDA has designated five  counties  in Wisconsin and one in Minnesota as crop disaster areas due to extremely hot weather and severe drought conditions that occurred in 2013.

  • Wisconsin: St. Croix, Barron, Dunn, Pierce and Polk counties.
  • Minnesota: Washington County.

7. North Carolina Disaster Designations. USDA has designated nine counties in North Carolina as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by the combined effects of excessive rains and flooding that began June 1, 2013, and continues.

Those counties are Cumberland,  Hoke, Bladen, Moore, Robeson, Scotland, Harnett, Richmond and Sampson.

Between January 10 and March 5, 2014 USDA has declared 744 counties across 16 states as crop disaster areas due to drought.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on February 26, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.