Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared for Texas, New Mexico

Posted by feww on March 13, 2014


15 Counties in Two States Declared Crop Disaster Areas due to Worsening Drought

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 15 counties in two state—Texas and New Mexico—as crop disaster areas, in two separate designations, due to the worsening drought.

1. Texas. USDA designates 8 counties in Texas as Crop Disaster Areas due to the worsening drought. The counties are Gonzalez, Caldwell, Fayette, Karnes, Wilson, DeWitt, Guadalupe and Lavaca

2. New Mexico.USDA designates 6 counties in New Mexico and one in Texas as Crop Disaster Areas also due to the worsening drought. The disaster areas are

  • New Mexico: Dona Ana, Luna, Grant, Hidalgo, Otero and Sierra counties.
  • Texas: El Paso County.

Since January 10, 2014 USDA has declared 759 counties across 16 states as crop disaster areas due to drought.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on March 12, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.