Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Archive for March 21st, 2014

M6.5 Quake Strikes Andaman Sea near Nicobar Islands

Posted by feww on March 21, 2014


Strong Quake, Significant Aftershocks Occur E of Mohean, Nicobar Islands

Centered at 7.769°N, 94.325°, the quake struck at a depth of about 10km on Friday 21, 2014 at 13:41:07 UTC, according to the USGS/EHP.

At least 8 significant aftershocks followed, as of posting.

andaman sea quakes 21-3-14
Explanation Map for Seismotectonics of the Sumatra Region (Partial). Source: USGS

Earthquake Details  – [USGS/EHP]

Magnitude: 6.5Mw
Event Time: 2014-03-21 13:41:07 UTC
Location: 7.769°N 94.325°E depth=10.0km (6.2mi)
Nearby Cities:

  • 113km (70mi) E of Mohean, India
  • 234km (145mi) NNW of Sabang, Indonesia

Posted in earhquake hazard, Earthquake news, Significant Event Imagery, significant events | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Crop Disasters Declared for Texas, Oklahoma, Idaho

Posted by feww on March 21, 2014


Worsening drought prompts crop disaster declarations for 46 counties in three states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 46 counties in three state—Texas, Oklahoma and Idaho—as crop disaster areas due to the worsening drought, in two separate designations.

Texas Drought Crop Disaster Designations

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 32 counties in Texas as crop disaster areas due to the worsening drought.

Those counties are Bosque, Hemphill, Montague, Tarrant, Ellis, Hood, Parker, Wheeler, Erath, Johnson, Somervell, Clay, Dallas, Gray, Jack, Collingsworth, Denton, Hamilton, Kaufman, Comanche, Donley, Henderson, Lipscomb, Cooke, Eastland, Hill, McLennan, Coryell, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Roberts and Wise.

Oklahoma Drought Crop Disaster Designations

The following areas in Oklahoma have also been designated as crop disaster areas: Beckham, Ellis, Jefferson, Love and Roger Mills counties.

Idaho Drought Crop Disaster Designations

USDA has also designated nine counties in Idaho as crop disaster areas due to the drought.

Those counties are Elmore, Ada, Boise, Custer, Owyhee, Blaine, Camas, Gooding and Twin Falls.

Since January 10, 2014 USDA has declared 805 counties across 16 states as crop disaster areas due to worsening drought.

  • Those states are: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas and Utah.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on March 19, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

Posted in 2014 disaster diary, 2014 Disaster Forecast, 2014 global disasters, Climate Change, Global Disaster watch, global disasters, Significant Event Imagery, significant events | Tagged: , , , , , , , | 1 Comment »