Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared for Texas, Oklahoma, Idaho

Posted by feww on March 21, 2014


Worsening drought prompts crop disaster declarations for 46 counties in three states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared 46 counties in three state—Texas, Oklahoma and Idaho—as crop disaster areas due to the worsening drought, in two separate designations.

Texas Drought Crop Disaster Designations

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 32 counties in Texas as crop disaster areas due to the worsening drought.

Those counties are Bosque, Hemphill, Montague, Tarrant, Ellis, Hood, Parker, Wheeler, Erath, Johnson, Somervell, Clay, Dallas, Gray, Jack, Collingsworth, Denton, Hamilton, Kaufman, Comanche, Donley, Henderson, Lipscomb, Cooke, Eastland, Hill, McLennan, Coryell, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Roberts and Wise.

Oklahoma Drought Crop Disaster Designations

The following areas in Oklahoma have also been designated as crop disaster areas: Beckham, Ellis, Jefferson, Love and Roger Mills counties.

Idaho Drought Crop Disaster Designations

USDA has also designated nine counties in Idaho as crop disaster areas due to the drought.

Those counties are Elmore, Ada, Boise, Custer, Owyhee, Blaine, Camas, Gooding and Twin Falls.

Since January 10, 2014 USDA has declared 805 counties across 16 states as crop disaster areas due to worsening drought.

  • Those states are: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas and Utah.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations were approved by USDA on March 19, 2014.

2014 Federal and Agriculture Disaster Declarations

Related Links

One Response to “Crop Disasters Declared for Texas, Oklahoma, Idaho”

  1. Reblogged this on E C O L O G I S T I C A L.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.