Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared for 11 U.S. States

Posted by feww on April 11, 2014



Drought and Freeze Cause Crop Disasters across Dozens of Counties in 11 States

Crop Disasters Caused by DROUGHT

The U.S. Department of Agriculture USDA has designated dozens of counties across 10 states—Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah—as crop disaster areas due to the drought.

Those areas are

  • California. Imperial, Riverside and San Diego counties.
  • Arizona. La Paz and Yuma counties.
  • Colorado. Phillips, Baca, Kiowa, Prowers, Cheyenne, Kit Carson, Sedgwick and Yuma (2 designations) counties.
  • Idaho. Cassia, Owyhee and Twin Falls counties.
  • Kansas. Cheyenne, Greeley, Morton, Scott, Decatur (2 designations), Hamilton Norton, Seward, Graham, Haskell, Phillips, Sheridan, Grant, Meade, Rawlins , Sherman, Wallace, Wichita,Clark Gove, Lane, Smith, Finney, Gray, Logan, Stanton, Ford,  Kearny, Rooks, Stevens, Thomas  and Trego counties.
  • Nebraska. Arthur, Chase (2 designations), Custer, Dawson, Deuel, Dundy (2 designations), Furnas (2 designations), Garden, Gosper, Harlan, Hayes (2 designations), Keith  (2 designations), Franklin, Frontier (2 designations), Hitchcock (3 designations), Lincoln (2 designations), Red Willow (3 designations),  Logan, McPherson and Perkins (2 designations) counties.
  • Nevada. Elko, Eureka, Humboldt, Lander, Nye and White Pine counties.
  • Oklahoma. Beaver, Cimarron and Texas counties.
  • Texas. Crockett, Menard, Schleicher, Irion, Reagan, Sutton, Concho, Glasscock, Mason, Sterling, Upton, Crane, Kimble, Midland, Terrell, Val Verde, Edwards, McCulloch, Pecos and  Tom Green counties.
  • Utah.  Box Elder and Tooele counties.

Crop Disasters Caused by FREEZE

USDA has also designated 20 counties in New York as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by freeze and excessive snow that occurred Dec. 1, 2013, and continues.

Those counties are Onondaga, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Wyoming, Allegany, Cortland, Madison, Tompkins, Cattaraugus, Erie, Monroe, Wayne, Cayuga, Genesee, Oswego, Yates, Chemung, Livingston and Steuben.

Drought Disasters 2014

Since January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 1,010 counties across 16 states as crop disaster areas.

  • Those states are: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas and Utah.
  • Crop disasters have been declared in an additional 42 counties in the states of New York and Pennsylvania due to  Freeze.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on April 2, 2014.

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.