Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in Six States

Posted by feww on April 17, 2014



Drought, Excessive Rain, Freeze and Frost  Cause Crop Disasters across Dozens of Counties in 6 States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 52 Counties across six states—Arizona, California, Oklahoma, Alabama, Florida and Georgia—as crop disaster areas in four separate designations due to various disasters.

Drought Disaster in Arizona and California

USDA has designated five counties in Arizona and three counties in California as Crop Disaster Areas due to ongoing Drought. Those areas are

  • Arizona. La Paz, Maricopa, Mohave, Yavapai and Yuma counties.
  • California. Imperial, Riverside and San Bernardino counties.

Drought Disaster in Oklahoma

USDA has designated seven counties in Oklahoma as Crop Disaster Areas due to damages and losses caused by the drought.  Those areas are Blaine, Dewey, Caddo, Canadian, Custer, Kingfisher and Major counties.

Crop Disasters from Excessive Rain in Florida

USDA has designated nine counties in Florida as Crop Disaster Areas due to excessive rain that occurred from Jan. 1- March 14, 2014.

Those counties are Alachua, Bradford, Clay, Duval, Flagler, Marion, Putnam, St. Johns  and Volusia.

Crop Disasters Caused by Freeze and Frost

USDA has designated 24 counties in Florida as crop disaster areas due to freeze and frost that occurred from Jan. 7-31, 2014 (and presumably continues. The wording is ambiguous).

Those counties are Alachua, Baker, Bay, Bradford, Broward, Clay, Columbia, Duval, Gilchrist, Glades, Hendry, Holmes, Levy, Marion, Nassau, Okaloosa, Palm Beach, Walton, Martin, Putnam, Okeechobee, Santa Rosa, Union and Washington.

Farmers and ranchers in the following counties in Alabama and Georgia also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

  • Alabama. Covington, Escambia and Geneva counties.
  • Georgia. Charlton County.

Drought Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 1,062 counties across 21 states as crop disaster areas. Most of those designations are due to drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas and Utah.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. A number of counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on April 2, 2014.

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.