Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Drought Destroys Crops in 11 States

Posted by feww on July 3, 2014


SCENARIOS 900, 800, 555, 444, 111, 071, 03

Crop Disasters Declared for 62 Additional Counties across 11 states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 62 counties in 11 states as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by the worsening drought.

The disaster designations are as follows:

  • Arizona: Apache County
  • California: Del Norte County
  • Colorado: Archuleta, Dolores, La Plata, Montezuma, Conejos, Mineral, San Juan, Hinsdale, Rio Grande and  San Miguel counties
  • Idaho: Blaine, Camas, Canyon, Fremont , Minidoka, Ada, Custer, Jefferson, Owyhee, Bingham, Elmore, Jerome, Payette, Butte, Gem, Lincoln, Power, Cassia, Gooding, Madison, Teton, and Clark counties
  • Montana: Beaverhead, Gallatin and Madison counties
  • New Mexico: Rio Arriba and San Juan counties
  • Oregon: Coos, Curry, Douglas,  Josephine and Malheur counties
  • Texas: Matagorda, Brazoria, Calhoun, Jackson and Wharton counties 
  • Utah: San Juan County
  • Washington: Ferry, Kittitas, Chelan, King, Pierce, Douglas, Lincoln, Stevens, Grant, Okanogan and Yakima counties
  • Wyoming: Teton County

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,081 separate crop disasters across 29  states. Most of those designations are due to the worsening drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Texas, Utah and Washington, Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on July 2, 2014.

California Drought Disasters

Other Drought Disaster Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.