Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in 7 States

Posted by feww on August 7, 2014

SCENARIOS 900,  888, 066, 555, 444, 178, 111, 178, 071, 023, 03

Drought, Freeze, Extreme Rain Events destroy crops in 37 counties across seven states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 37 counties in seven states–Idaho, Montana,Florida,Alabama,Georgia and the Carolinas–as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by the worsening drought, freeze and extreme rain events.

The disaster designations are as follows:

Drought Disasters

USDA has designated 8 counties in  Idaho and Montana as crop  disaster area due to the drought.

  • Idaho: Lemhi, Butte, Clark, Custer, Idaho and Valley counties
  • Montana: Beaverhead and Ravalli counties

Freeze Disasters

USDA has designated 14  counties in the Carolinas as crop  disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by freeze that occurred from March 4, 2014, through April 17, 2014.

  • South Carolina: Cherokee, Greenville, Spartanburg, Abbeville, Anderson, Laurens, Pickens, Union and York counties.
  • North Carolina: Cleveland, Henderson, Polk, Rutherford and Transylvania counties

Excessive Rain Disasters

USDA has designated 15  counties in three states as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain that occurred from April 4, 2014, through May 2, 2014.

  • Florida: Escambia, Jackson, Santa Rosa, Bay, Calhoun, Gadsden, Holmes, Liberty, Okaloosa and Washington counties
  • Alabama: Baldwin, Escambia, Geneva and Houston counties
  • Georgia:  Seminole County

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,240 separate crop disasters across 33 states. Most of those designations are due to the worsening drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina Texas, Utah and Washington, Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on August 6, 2014.

 Drought Disaster Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.