Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in Six States

Posted by feww on September 5, 2014

SCENARIOS 900,  888, 444, 178, 111, 064 

Excessive rain, high winds, and hail storm destroy crops in six states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 27 counties in six states–Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Montana, Nevada–as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by extreme rain events, high winds and hail storm.

Wind, Rain and Flooding

  •  Hawaii. Hawaii County has been designated as a Crop Disaster Area due to wind, rain and flooding that occurred Aug. 7-9, 2014.

Hail Storm

The following counties have been declared crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a hail storm that occurred May 21, 2014.

  • Illinois. Vermilion, Champaign, Douglas, Edgar, Ford and Iroquois counties.
  • Indiana. Benton, Vermillion and Warren counties.

Extreme Rain Event

The following counties have been declared crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain that occurred Aug. 3-7, 2014.

  • Idaho. Jerome, Twin Falls, Cassia, Gooding, Minidoka, Elmore, Lincoln and Owyhee counties.
  • Nevada. Elko County.

High Winds and Hail

The following counties have been declared crop disaster areas due to high winds and hail that occurred Aug. 14, 2014.
  • Idaho. Clearwater, Idaho, Latah, Lewis, Nez Perce and Shoshone counties.
  • Montana. Mineral and Missoula counties.

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,289  separate crop disasters across 35 states. Most of those designations are due to the worsening drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington, Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on August 13, 2014.

Crop Disaster Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.