Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in Five States

Posted by feww on September 12, 2014

SCENARIOS 900,  888, 444, 178, 177, 111, 064, 03, 02

Drought, Frost, ERE and Winds destroy crops in five states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 26 counties in five states–Texas, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Mexico and Kansas–as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by drought, frost, extreme rain events and high winds.

Drought Disaster Areas

A total of 9 counties in Texas and one county in New Mexico have been designated as crop disaster areas due to ongoing drought.

  • Texas: Crane, Winkler, Andrews, Ector, Pecos, Ward, Crockett, Loving and Upton counties.
  • New Mexico: Lea County

Drought & Frost Disaster Areas

11 Counties in Kansas and Nebraska have been declared crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by drought and frost that occurred during the period of January 1, 2014, and continuing.

  • Kansas: Republic, Washington, Clay, Cloud, Jewell, Marshall and Riley counties.
  • Nebraska: Gage, Jefferson, Nuckolls and Thayer counties.

Excessive Rain and Winds Disaster Areas

USDA has designated five counties in North Carolina as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and winds that occurred on July 3, 2014.
  • North Carolina: Pamlico, Beaufort, Carteret, Craven and Hyde counties.

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,315 separate crop disasters across 35 states. Most of those designations are due to the ongoing drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington, Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on September 10, 2014.

Crop Disaster Links


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.