Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Drought Crop Disasters Declared in U.S. West

Posted by feww on September 18, 2014

SCENARIOS 900, 800, 555, 444, 111, 101, 03, 02

Crop Disaster Declared for 70 Counties in Four States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 70 counties across four states—California, Oregon, Nevada and Arizona—as crop disaster areas due to losses and damage caused by the historic drought.

The crop disaster designations are as follows:

California. Alameda, Kern, Monterey, Sierra, Alpine, Kings, Orange, Siskiyou, Amador, Lassen, Plumas, Sonoma, Butte, Los Angeles, San Benito, Stanislaus, Calaveras, Madera, San Bernardino, Tehama, Colusa, Marin, San Joaquin, Trinity, Contra Costa, Mariposa, San Luis Obispo, Tulare, El Dorado, Mendocino, Santa Barbara, Tuolumne, Fresno, Merced, Santa Clara, Ventura, Glenn, Modoc, Shasta, Yolo, Inyo, Mono, as well as, Del Norte, Placer, San Mateo, Humboldt, Riverside, Santa Cruz, Lake, Sacramento, Solano, Napa, San Diego, Sutter, Nevada, San Francisco and Yuba counties.

Arizona. La Paz and Mohave counties.

Nevada. Clark, Douglas, Esmeralda, Lyon, Mineral, Nye and Washoe counties.

Oregon. Jackson, Josephine, Klamath and Lake counties.

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,385 separate crop disasters across 35 states. Most of those designations are due to the ongoing drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington, Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The total number of counties designated as agricultural disaster areas includes both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on September 17, 2014.

Crop Disaster Links

One Response to “Drought Crop Disasters Declared in U.S. West”

  1. […] Source: Drought Crop Disasters Declared in U.S. West […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.