Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Archive for November 14th, 2014

Drought, Freeze Destroy More Crops in U.S. West, Southeast

Posted by feww on November 14, 2014

SCENARIOS  560, 444, 187, 177, 157, 111, 100, 03, 02

Crop Disasters Declared for 25 Counties across Four States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared crop disasters in multiple counties across four states—Idaho, Oregon, Tennessee and Washington—due to the losses and damage caused by recent drought, and freezing temperatures.

Designation #1 : Crop damage and losses caused by drought

USDA has declared crop disasters for the following counties in Idaho and Oregon due to losses and damages caused by a recent drought.

  •  Idaho: Adams, Gem, Idaho, Valley and Washington counties.
  • Oregon: Baker and Wallowa counties.

Designation #2 : Crop damage and losses caused also by drought

(USDA) has designated Wallowa County in Oregon as a primary natural disaster area due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

  • Oregon: Baker, Umatilla, Union and Wallowa counties.
  • Idaho: Adams, Idaho and Nez Perce counties.
  • Washington: Asotin, Columbia and Garfield counties.

Designation #3 : Crop damage and losses caused by Freezing Temperatures

USDA has designated eight counties in Tennessee as crop disaster areas due to damages and loses caused by freezing temperatures that occurred on March 26 and 27, 2014.

The disaster designations are as follows:

  • Bedford, Coffee, Marshall, Wilson, Cannon, Davidson, Rutherford and Williamson counties.

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 2,707 counties across 41 states. Most of those designations are due to  drought.

Those states are

  • Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on November 12, 2014.

Latest/ Recent Crop Disaster Declarations

Posted in Climate Change, environment, global disasters, News Alert | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »