Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared for 220 Counties in Three States

Posted by feww on January 8, 2015

SCENARIOS  900, [500,] 444, 117, 111, 100, 067, 03, 02

Persistent Drought Destroys or Damages Crops in Texas, Oklahoma, New Mexico

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 220 counties in three states—Texas, Oklahoma and New Mexico—as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a lingering drought that occurred from January 1, 2014, and continues.


TX drought disaster jan 2015

Oklahoma: Beaver, Cotton, Jefferson, Roger Mills, Beckham, Ellis, Love, Texas, Bryan, Harmon, Marshall, Tillman, Cimarron and Jackson counties.

New Mexico: Curry, Lea, Quay, Union, Dona Ana, Otero and Roosevelt counties.

Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in  220 counties across three states. All of those disaster designations are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014 USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states are

  • Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on January 7, 2015.

Crop Disaster Declarations in 2014

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.