Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Archive for January 30th, 2015

Earthquakes Strike 8 U.S. States and Puerto Rico

Posted by feww on January 30, 2015

SCENARIOS 700, [500,] 08, 07, 02

 227 Earthquakes strike 8 U.S. States and Puerto Rico in one day

At least 227 earthquakes of all magnitudes have occurred in eight U.S. states—Alaska, California, Hawaii, Nevada, Oklahoma, Oregon, Utah and Washington—and Puerto Rico in the past 24 hours.

The quakes comprised more than 97 percent of all earthquakes (234 events) that occurred globally during the period.

 Related Links

Recent Seismicity in the U.S.

Posted in Earthquake Hazard, Earthquake Information, Earthquake news, earthquake report, significant events | Tagged: , | Leave a Comment »

Drought Disaster Declared for VA, WV Counties

Posted by feww on January 30, 2015

SCENARIOS  900, [500,] 444, 117, 111, 100, 067, 03, 02

Drought destroys or damages crops in 7 counties across 2 states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of seven counties in two states—Virginia and West Virginia—as crop disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by drought that occurred from Aug. 22, 2014 through Oct. 15, 2014.

Those counties are :

  • Virginia: Alleghany, Bath, Augusta, Highland and Rockbridge counties.
  • West Virginia: Greenbrier and Pocahontas counties.

Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 227 counties across five states. All of the disaster designations so far are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014, USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states were

  • Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on January 7, 2015.

Related Links

Posted in News Alert | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »