Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

U.S. Drought: Crop Disaster Declared for Idaho Counties

Posted by feww on July 10, 2015

Drought crop disasters declared for 8 counties in Idaho

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated eight additional counties in Idaho as crop disaster areas due to losses caused by drought.

The disaster areas are Bannock, Bingham, Blaine, Bonneville, Butte, Caribou, Jefferson and Power counties.

Drought in the U.S. West

The drought has intensified in the western U.S., according to the U.S. Drought Monitor.

Week None D0-D4 D1-D4 D2-D4 D3-D4 D4
2015-07-07 22.40 77.60 61.14 43.04 18.87 7.26
2015-06-30 23.90 76.10 60.38 39.01 17.13 7.26

California: No change reported!

Week None D0-D4 D1-D4 D2-D4 D3-D4 D4
2015-07-07 0.14 99.86 98.71 94.59 71.08 46.73
2015-06-30 0.14 99.86 98.71 94.59 71.08 46.73


Week None D0-D4 D1-D4 D2-D4 D3-D4 D4
2015-07-07 0.00 100.00 100.00 83.71 34.09 0.00
2015-06-30 0.00 100.00 98.60 83.66 34.09 0.00


Washington State

Week None D0-D4 D1-D4 D2-D4 D3-D4 D4
2015-07-07 0.00 100.00 100.00 86.14 0.00 0.00
2015-06-30 0.00 100.00 92.52 45.79 0.00 0.00


Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 1,375 counties across 22 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

About 99 percent of the 2015 crop disaster designations so far are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014, USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states were:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated as crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on July 8, 2015 .

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.