Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Crop Disasters Declared in Six States

Posted by feww on July 23, 2015

Crops destroyed by drought, excessive rain, flooding, high winds and hail

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 49 counties and parishes across six states—Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Oregon, Texas, and Washington—as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by drought (Oregon and Washington), and excessive rain, flooding, high winds and hail in the other four states.

Crop Disaster Designation #1  due to damages and losses caused by the combined effects of excessive rain, flooding, high winds and hail that occurred from April 27, 2015, through June 26, 2015.

The disaster areas in Louisiana are the parishes of Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Caldwell, Catahoula, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, La Salle, Madison, Natchitoches, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, St. Helena, St. Landry, St. Martin, Tensas, Vernon, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Feliciana and Winn.

Other disaster area are as follows:

  • Arkansas. Lafayette and Miller counties.
  • Mississippi. Amite and Wilkinson counties.
  • Texas. Cass, Harrison, Marion and Panola counties.

Crop Disaster Designation #2 due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

  • Oregon. Clackamas, Hood River, Multnomah and Wasco counties.
  • Washington. Klickitat and Skamania counties.

Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 1,500 counties, or county equivalents, across 25 states: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

USDA has also designated 14 municipalities in Puerto Rico as drought disaster areas.

About 99 percent of the 2015 crop disaster designations so far are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014, USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states were:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated as crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on July 22, 2015 .

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.