Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Archive for March 31st, 2016

Pavlof rests, for now!

Posted by feww on March 31, 2016

Pavlof ash eruption blankets large area

Pavlof volcano, as seen from Cold Bay, showing deposits of March 27-28 eruption. Photo by Candace Shaack.

Date: March 29, 2016 9:06 AM
Photographer/Creator: Candace, Shaack

Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

The eruption of Pavlof Volcano has greatly diminished in intensity over the past day… Seismic activity remains elevated at levels above background and over the past 24 hours has been characterized by occasional short-duration tremor bursts, likely associated with the low-level ash emissions.

Although the intensity of the eruption has diminished, it is possible for conditions to change at any time and more significant ash emissions may resume with little to no warning. —AVO

19°25’16” N, 155°17’13” W, Summit Elevation 4,091 ft (1,247 m)
Alert Level: WATCH
Current Aviation Color Code: ORANGE

Activity Summary: Kīlauea continues to erupt in a relatively steady fashion at both the summit, where there is a circulating lava lake, and from its East Rift Zone, where surface lava flows are active northeast of the Puʻu ʻŌʻō vent. The East Rift Zone lava flow currently poses no threat to nearby communities. Earthquake rates and seismic tremor are at background levels. —HVO

Posted in News Alert | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Crop Disasters Declared in North Carolina

Posted by feww on March 31, 2016

NC Emergency Designations: Excessive rain and flooding damage or destroy crops across 22 counties

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 22 counties in the state of North Carolina as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred from Jan. 2, 2016, and continues. Those counties are:

North Carolina. Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington, Wayne, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Duplin, Greene, Johnston, Lenoir, Martin, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Sampson and Wilson.

All counties listed above were designated natural disaster areas on March 30, 2016.

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on one or more crops.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated as crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

Previous Disaster Designations – 2016:

Posted in News Alert | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »