Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Posts Tagged ‘Crop Year 2014’

Multiple Crop Disasters Declared in 10 States

Posted by feww on September 25, 2014

MAIN SCENARIOS 900, 888, 800, 797, 311, 555, 444, 187, 178, 177, 157, 111, 097, 088, 066, 064, 027, 023, 03, 02

Extreme Weather and Climate Disasters Destroy Crops in 147 Counties across 10  States

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has declared multiple crop disasters for an additional  147 counties in 10 states due to the losses and damage caused by extreme weather and climatic events that have occurred during the 2014 crop year, so far.

Losses caused by freeze that occurred from Feb. 1, 2014, through April 30, 2014

  • New York. Broome, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware and Tioga counties.
  • Pennsylvania. Susquehanna and Wayne counties.

Damages and losses caused by excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, high winds and hail that occurred from April 1, 2014, through July 8, 2014

  • New York. Albany, Allegany, Bronx, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Nassau, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, St. Lawrence, Steuben, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Wayne, Westchester, Wyoming and Yates counties.
  • Connecticut. Fairfield and Litchfield counties.
  • Massachusetts. Berkshire County.
  • New Jersey. Bergen County.
  • Pennsylvania. Bradford, Potter and Tioga counties.

Damages and losses caused by the combined effects of frost and drought that occurred from Jan. 1, 2014, through Aug. 12, 2014

  • Tennessee. Blount, Cocke, Grainger, Greene, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox and Sevier counties.

Damages and losses caused by flooding and excessive rain that occurred from June 29, 2014, through July 9, 2014

  • Tennessee. Chester, Fayette, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Madison, McNairy,  Shelby and Tipton counties.
  • Mississippi. Alcorn, Benton, Marshall and Tippah counties.

Damages and losses caused by tornadoes, high winds, hail and lightning that occurred from July 27, 2014, through July 28, 2014

  • Tennessee. Carter, Greene, Hawkins, Johnson, Sullivan, Unicoi and Washington counties.
  • Virginia. Bristol, Scott and Washington counties.

Losses due to the combined effects of heavy rainfall, flooding, ground saturation, standing water and colder than normal temperatures that occurred from May 1, 2014, through July 1, 2014

  • Minnesota. Aitkin, Anoka, Beltrami, Benton, Blue Earth, Carlton, Carver, Cass, Chisago, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Dakota, Douglas, Grant, Hennepin, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Le Sueur, Marshall, McLeod, Meeker, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Nicollet, Otter Tail, Pennington, Pine, Polk, Pope, Ramsey, Red Lake, Rice, Roseau, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, St. Louis, Stearns, Stevens, Todd, Traverse, Wadena, Waseca, Washington, Wilkin and Wright counties.
  • Wisconsin. Burnett, Douglas and Polk counties.

Crop Disasters 2014

Beginning January 10, 2014 USDA has declared at least 2,532 separate crop disasters across 38 states. Most of those designations are due to the drought.

  • Those states are Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Counties may have been designated crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on September 24, 2014.

Crop Disaster Links


Posted in Climate Change, environment, global disasters, significant events | Tagged: , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »