Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Posts Tagged ‘heavy rains’

Crop Disasters Declared in Oklahoma, Arkansas and Puerto Rico

Posted by feww on March 26, 2016

Extreme weather and climatic disasters destroy crops in multiple areas across two states and Puerto Rico

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 13 counties in the states of Oklahoma as Arkansas as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by heavy rains, flash flooding and flooding that occurred from Dec. 26, 2015, through Jan. 5, 2016. 

Those counties are:

  • Oklahoma. Adair, Cherokee, Haskell, LeFlore, Latimer, McCurtain, Muskogee, Pushmataha and Sequoyah counties.
  • Arkansas. Crawford, Polk, Scott and Sebastain counties.

USDA has also designated 27 municipalities in Puerto Rico as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

Those municipalities are: 

  • Puerto Rico. Aguas Buenas, Aibonito, Barranquitas, Bayamon, Caguas, Canovanas, Carolina, Cayey, Cidra, Coamo, Comerio, Corozal, Guaynabo, Gurabo, Humacao, Juncos, Las Piedras, Maunabo, Naguabo, Naranjito, Orocovis, Patillas, San Juan, San Lorenzo, Trujillo Alto, Vieques and Yabucoa municipalities.

All counties and municipalities listed above were designated crop disaster areas on March 23, 2016.

Previous Disaster Designations – 2016:

Posted in News Alert | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Major Disaster Declared for Iowa

Posted by feww on August 7, 2014

SCENARIOS 444, 111, 088, 066, 023

Iowa Declared Federal Disaster Area

Iowa Severe Storms, Tornadoes, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding (DR-4187)

The Iowa  governor’s request for a Presidential Disaster Declaration in response to significant damage caused by severe weather that produced damaging winds, tornadoes, heavy rains, flooding, hail, and thunderstorms beginning June 26 through July 7 has been approved. This is Iowa’s third  federal disaster declaration in 2014.

The 22 counties included in the declaration are: Audubon, Black Hawk, Butler, Cedar, Des Moines, Grundy, Hamilton, Hardin, Ida, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Linn, Mahaska, Muscatine, Poweshiek, Tama, and Washington, according to a statement posted on the Gov. Branstad’s website.

This Presidential Disaster Declaration is the 21st Major Presidential Disaster Declaration Iowa has received since March 2007, said the statement.

Latest Federal Disaster Declarations

Posted in global disasters | Tagged: , , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Images of the Day: Despair in Palopo, Sulawesi island

Posted by edro on November 6, 2008

A Shrinking World!

A woman cries as she flees from her damaged house in Palopo November 5, 2008. Nearly one thousand families have been affected by floods following heavy rains in Indonesia’s Sulawesi island, an official said on Wednesday, with several casualties and damage to homes.  REUTERS/Yusuf Ahmad. Image may be subject to copyright.

Posted in Climate Change, floods, Indonesia, mudslides | Tagged: , , , , | Leave a Comment »