Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Drought Disaster Declared in 12 States

Posted by feww on February 6, 2015

UPDATED February 7, 2015

SCENARIOS  900, [500,] 444, 117, 111, 100, 067, 03, 02

Drought destroys or damages crops in 504 counties across 12 states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated a total of 504 countiesiii in 12 states as crop disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by drought.

Those designations are for:

Arizona (20 counties/disaster designations), California (68 disaster designations, which cover ALL of the state’s 58 counties), Colorado (36), Idaho (9), Kansas (54), Nebraska (1), Nevada (28 designations, which cover ALL of the state’s 16 counties and Carson City), New Mexico (27), Oklahoma (77), Oregon (7), Texas (154) and Utah (22).

Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 731 countiesiii across 14 states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Idaho, Kansas, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Texas, Utah, Virginia and West Virginia.

All of the 2015 disaster designations so far are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014, USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states were:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated as crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on February 4, 2015.

Related Links

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.