Fire Earth

Earth is fighting to stay alive. Mass dieoffs, triggered by anthropogenic assault and fallout of planetary defense systems offsetting the impact, could begin anytime!

Archive for July 30th, 2015

Extreme Weather Events Destroy Crops in 10 States

Posted by feww on July 30, 2015

Drought, excessive rain, tornadoes… destroy crops in 104 counties across 10 states

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has designated 104  counties and parishes across ten  states—Arkansas, Idaho, Louisiana,  Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, Oklahoma, Texas and Utah—as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by extreme weather events.

Crop Disaster Designation #1

USDA has designated 17 counties in six states as crop disaster areas due to damages and losses caused by a recent drought.

State of Idaho: Benewah, Blaine, Bonner, Cassia, Clearwater, Jerome, Kootenai, Latah, Minidoka, Oneida, Power, Shoshone and Twin Falls counties.

Montana: Mineral and Sanders counties.

Nevada: Elko County.

Utah: Box Elder County.

Crop Disaster Designation #2

USDA has designated 87 counties in six states as crop disaster areas due to the combined effects of excessive rain, flash flooding, flooding, hail, high winds, lightning and tornadoes that occurred during the period of March 1, 2015, and continues.

State of Arkansas: Arkansas, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Desha, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, St. Francis, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff and Yell counties.

Louisiana: Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne and Webster parishes.

Mississippi: Bolivar, Coahoma and Tunica counties.

Missouri: Barry, Dunklin, Howell, Oregon, Ozark, Taney and Stone counties.

Oklahoma: Adair, Le Flore, McCurtain and Sequoyah counties.

Texas: Bowie and Cass counties.

Crop Disasters 2015

Beginning January 7, 2015 USDA has declared crop disasters in at least 1,604 counties, or county equivalents, across 26 States: Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Washington and Wyoming.

USDA has also designated 14 municipalities in Puerto Rico as drought disaster areas.

About 99 percent of the 2015 crop disaster designations so far are due to drought.

Crop Disasters 2014

In 2014, USDA declared crop disasters in at least 2,904 counties across 44 states. Most of the designations were due to drought.

Those states were:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan. Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. [FIRE-EARTH has documented all of the above listings. See blog content.]

i. USDA trigger point for a countywide disaster declaration is 30 percent crop loss on at least one crop.

ii. The counties designated as agricultural disaster areas, as listed above, include both primary and contiguous disaster areas.

iii. Some counties may have been designated as crop disaster areas more than once due to multiple disasters.

iv. The U.S. has a total of 3,143 counties and county-equivalents.

v. The disaster designations posted above were approved by USDA on July 29, 2015 .

Related Links

Posted in disaster report, disaster watch | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »

Major Disaster Declared for Vermont

Posted by feww on July 30, 2015

Federal Disaster Declared for Vermont

Vermont Severe Storm and Flooding (DR-4232)

The Disaster President has declared a major disaster exists in the State of Vermont in the areas affected by a severe storm and flooding on June 9, 2015.

The areas that were worst affected by the extreme weather events include the counties of Addison and Chittenden.

Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the territory and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

This is the 28th Major Disaster Declaration [DR 4205-4232] proclaimed for a U.S. state/territory, and the second for Vermont so far this year. Additionally, the federal government has issued eight Fire Management Assistance Declarations for the year to date, as of posting.

Fire Management Assistance Declarations (2015)

[FM-5091] 07/23/2015 California Wragg Fire
[FM-5090] 07/20/2015 Washington Blue Creek Fire
[FM-5089] 07/20/2015 California North Fire
[FM-5088] 07/06/2015 Idaho Cape Horn Fire
[FM-5087] 06/29/2015 Washington Sleepy Hollow Fire
[FM-5086] 06/17/2015 Arizona Kearney River Fire
[FM-5085] 06/16/2015 Alaska Card Street Fire
[FM-5084] 06/15/2015 Alaska Sockeye Fire

Related Links

Posted in News Alert | Tagged: , , , , , , , | Leave a Comment »